The Society began in Cardiff in 1972 and now has nearly 300 members.
There are four meetings each year in North, South and Mid-Wales with the Annual General meeting in Cardiff every October. However, because of the Covid Pandemic, meetings were disrupted in 2019 and 2020, resuming during 2021.


“The History of Medicine Society of Wales” ; in Welsh, “Cymdeithas Hanes Meddygaeth Cymru” hereinafter called “The Society”.


The chief objects of the Society are education and scholarship:

  • To further promote interest in and knowledge of the History of Medicine
  • To organise meetings of members appropriate to achieve this purpose
  • To foster research in the subject.


Membership of the Society is open to medical practitioners, medical students and to all persons with a special interest in the subject.

Applications for membership, accompanied by an initial subscription and Banker’s Order Mandate, shall be sent to the Honorary Secretary of the Society (see: Contact Us)


The annual subscription is £10 for single membership or £15 for joint membership by a couple residing at the same address, with only one copy of Society papers being sent at each mailing to that address. The subscription for medical students is half the single rate. Subscriptions are payable by Banker’s Order Mandate to the Honorary Treasurer on 1st January each year.


President: Dame Deirdre Hine

Vice President: Professor Sir Keith Peters

Immediate Past President: Mr Graham Kyle FRCS Opth

Honorary Medical Secretary: Mr. David Webster MD FRCS (Past President)

Assistant Secretary: Miss Margaret Davies MSc, DMS

Hon Treasurer: Dr Les Dingley MRCGP

Archivist: Dr. Peter Mitchell PhD FRHistS

Web Master: Amy Salisbury

Past Presidents: Dr. Peter Lloyd Jones, Dr. Margaret R Jones, Mr. David H A Jones